

BYLAW NO 1908

ELECTORAL BOUNDARIES AND COUNCIL COMPOSITION

A BYLAW OF KNEEHILL COUNTY, IN THE PROVINCE OF ALBERTA, TO ESTABLISH THE COMPOSITION OF KNEEHILL COUNTY COUNCIL; DIVIDE KNEEHILL COUNTY INTO DIVISIONS AND ESTABLISH THE BOUNDARIES OF EACH DIVISION; AND DETERMINE THE TITLE OF THE POSITIONS OF KNEEHILL COUNTY'S CHIEF ELECTED OFFICIAL AND COUNCILLORS.

WHEREAS, pursuant to section 143 of the *Municipal Government Act*, Council may by bylaw specify the number of councillors comprising Kneehill County Council;

AND WHEREAS, pursuant to section 148 of the *Municipal Government Act*, Council may by bylaw divide Kneehill County into divisions, establish the boundaries of each division, and provide for the number of councillors to be nominated and elected in each division;

AND WHEREAS, pursuant to section 150 of the *Municipal Government Act*, the Chief Elected Official is to be appointed by Council from amongst the councillors;

AND WHEREAS, pursuant to section 155 of the *Municipal Government Act*, Council may direct another title appropriate for the office of Councillor and Chief Elected Official;

AND WHEREAS, pursuant to section 151 of the *Municipal Government Act*, a bylaw passed under section 148 of the Municipal Government Act must be passed by December 31 of the year before the general election at which it is to take effect.

NOW THEREFORE the Council of Kneehill County, duly assembled, enacts as follows:

1. Title

This Bylaw shall be known as the "Electoral Boundaries and Council Composition Bylaw".

2. The purpose of this Bylaw is to:

- (1) Establish the composition of the Kneehill County Council;
- (2) Divide Kneehill County into divisions and establish the boundaries of each division; and
- (3) Determine the title of the positions of Kneehill County's Chief Elected Official and Councillors.
- 3. Words in this Bylaw have the same meaning as set out in the *Municipal Government Act* except for the definitions provided in Schedule "A" of this Bylaw.

4. Electoral Boundaries

(1) Kneehill County is divided into seven divisions with the boundaries established in Schedule "B" of this bylaw.

5. Council Composition

- (1) Kneehill County Council is comprised of seven councillors, each representing one of the divisions established by this bylaw.
- (2) Candidates for the office of councillor must be nominated for a specific division and one councillor must be elected for each division.
- (3) The office of councillor has the title "Councillor."

6. Chief Elected Official and Deputy Chief Elected Official

- (1) One councillor must be appointed to the office of Chief Elected Official by Council from amongst the councillors.
- One councillor must be appointed to the office of Deputy Chief Elected Official by Council from amongst the councillors.
- (3) The office of Chief Elected Official has the title "Reeve".
- (4) The office of Deputy Chief Elected Official has the title "Deputy Reeve".

7. Severability

(1) If a portion of this bylaw is found by a court of competent jurisdiction to be invalid, the invalid portion will be voided, and the rest of the bylaw remains valid and effective.

8. Effective Date

(1) This bylaw comes into effect upon third reading of this bylaw.

9. Bylaw Repeal

(1) Bylaw No. 1384, and any amendments thereto, are repealed upon this bylaw passing and coming into full force and effect.

READ a first time on this 10th day of September, 2024.

READ a second time on this x^{th} day of x, 2024.

READ a third time and final time of this xth day of x, 2024.

SCHEDULE "A"

Definitions

- 1. "Council" means the duly elected Council of Kneehill County and includes the Reeve, Deputy Reeve, and all Councillors.
- 2. **"Councillor"** means a duly elected member of Council and includes the Reeve, Deputy Reeve, and all Councillors.
- 3. **"Deputy Reeve"** means the Deputy Chief Elected Official as defined and contemplated in the *Municipal Government Act*.
- 4. "Division" means ward as defined and contemplated in the Municipal Government Act.
- 5. "General Election" means an election as defined and contemplated in the Local Authorities Election Act.
- 6. "Local Authorities Election Act" means the Local Authorities Election Act, RSA 2000, L-21, as amended or replaced from time to time.
- 7. "Reeve" means the Chief Elected Official as defined and contemplated in the *Municipal Government Act*.
- 8. "Municipal Government Act" means the Municipal Government Act, RSA 2000, c M-26, as amended or replaced from time to time.
- 9. **"Kneehill County"** means Kneehill County as a municipal corporation and the geographical area within its jurisdictional boundaries, as the context requires.