

REQUEST FOR DECISION

Subject:	Municipal Planning Commission	
Meeting Date:	Tuesday, October 22, 2024	
Prepared By:	Carolyn Van der Kuil, Legislative Services Manager	
Presented By:	Mike Haugen, CAO	



RELEVANT LEGISLATION:

Provincial (cite)- N/A

Council Bylaw/Policy (cite)- Bylaw 1784- Municipal Planning Commission

BACKGROUND/PROPOSAL:

This Commission is the Subdivision and Development Authority for the County to receive, consider, and decide on development.

Meetings are scheduled on the fourth Thursday of every month.

Bylaw 1784 States:

PART 1 ESTABLISHMENT OF THE MUNICIPAL PLANNING COMMISSION

- 1. That a commission known as the Municipal Planning Commission of Kneehill County hereinafter called "the Commission" is hereby established to act as a subdivision and development authority.
- 2. The Commission is hereby established and shall consist of the following:
 - (a) The Commission may be composed of all members of Council who shall be appointed by resolution of Council. Council may appoint up to two additional Members at Large at their discretion.
 - (b) The term of office of the members of the Commission shall be one year and may be renewed by further resolution of the Council.

Administration advertised for the Members at Large positions and received two applications.

Rick Vickery and Amy Merrill have expressed interest in serving on the MPC and their applications are attached.

Council has the option of appointing one, two or no Members at Large on MPC.







DISCUSSION/OPTIONS/BENEFITS/DISADVANTAGES/OTHER CONSIDERATIONS:

Current Representation:

Chairman: Jerry Wittstock Vice-Chairman: Faye McGhee Council Member: Debbie Penner Council Member: Carrie Fobes Council Member: Ken King Council Member: Wade Christie Council Member: Laura-Lee Machell-Cunningham Member at Large: Rick Vickery Member at Large: Amy Merrill

FINANCIAL & STAFFING IMPLICATIONS:

As per Policy #3-1, Council Compensation & Expense Reimbursement, honorariums may be incurred. Council honorariums are included in the yearly Operating Budget.

RECOMMENDED ENGAGEMENT:

Directive Decision (Information Sharing, One-Way Communication				
Tools:	Individual Notification	Other:		

ATTACHMENTS:

- 1. Appoint members to committee
- 2. Request further information
- 3. Receive for information

RECOMMENDED MOTION:

That Council appoint all members of Council to the Municipal Planning Commission as per Bylaw 1784.

That Council appoint X as Chairperson to the Municipal Planning Commission.

That Council appoint X as Vice-Chairperson to the Municipal Planning Commission.

That Council appoint x and x as Members at Large to the Municipal Planning Commission.

FOLLOW-UP ACTIONS:

Update Committee List

APPROVAL(S):

Mike Haugen, Chief Administrative Officer

Approved-

