

BYLAW NO 1913

2025 PROPERTY TAX BYLAW

A BYLAW OF KNEEHILL COUNTY, IN THE PROVINCE OF ALBERTA, TO AUTHORIZE THE RATES OF TAXATION TO BE LEVIED AGAINST ASSESSABLE PROPERTY WITHIN KNEEHILL COUNTY FOR THE 2025 TAXATION YEAR.

WHEREAS, Kneehill County has prepared and adopted detailed estimates of municipal revenue, expenses and expenditures as required, at the Council meeting held on December 10, 2024; and

WHEREAS the estimated municipal revenues from all sources other than property taxation total \$4,417,540; and

WHEREAS the estimated municipal expenses set out in the annual budget for Kneehill County in 2025 total \$32,127,835 and the balance of \$27,710,295 is to be raised by general municipal property taxation; and

WHEREAS the estimated amount required for current and future financial plans to be raised by municipal taxation is \$9,280,648, which is included in the total expenditures for 2025; and

WHEREAS the County prepares an additional Bylaw for Special Tax Rates as per Division 5 of the Municipal Government Act, being the 2025 Trochu Recreation Area Special Tax Bylaw #1914;

THEREFORE, the total amount to be raised by general municipal taxation is \$27,710,295.

WHEREAS, the requisitions are:

Alberta School Fund	Requisition
Residential and Farmland	2,234,421.16
Non-Residential	4,034,250.70
Over/(Under) Levy	40,447.92
	6,309,119.78
Designated Industrial Property	104,112.68
Seniors Foundation	
All assessment	311,682.17
Over/(Under) Levy	488.10_
	312,170.27

WHEREAS, the assessed value of all property in Kneehill County as shown on the assessment roll is:

General Municipal	
Residential	752,994,850
Farmland	151,625,750
Commercial	67,764,540
Federal Grants in Lieu of Taxes	259,020
Provincial Grants in Lieu of Taxes	68,560
Non Designated Industrial Property	44,245,680
Designated Industrial Property	380,740,420
Linear Property	1,104,461,920
	2.502.160.740

NOW THEREFORE under the authority of the Municipal Government Act, Kneehill County Council enacts as follows:

1. That the Chief Administrative Officer is hereby authorized to levy the following rates of taxation on the assessed value of all property as shown on the assessment roll of Kneehill County:

General Municipal				
	Assessment	Tax Levy	Tax Rate	
Residential	752,994,850	2,171,004.83	0.002883160	
Commercial	67,764,540	973,742.74	0.014369503	
Non Designated Property	44,245,680	635,788.44	0.014369503	
Farmland	151,625,750	2,485,493.57	0.016392290	
Designated Industrial Property	380,740,420	5,471,050.78	0.014369503	
Federal Grants in Lieu of Taxes	259,020	746.80	0.002883160	
Provincial Grants in Lieu of Taxes	68,560	68,560 985.17		
Linear Property	1,104,461,920	1,104,461,920 15,870,568.83		
Minimum Levy		100,912.15		
•	2,502,160,740	27,710,293.31		
Alberta School Foundation Fund	Assessment	Requisition	Tax Rate	
Residential and Farmland	904,620,600	2,248,837.96	0.002485946	
Non-Residential	1,159,448,000	1,159,448,000 4,060,281.39		
	_	6,309,119.35		
	Assessment	Requisition	Tax Rate	
Designated Industrial Property	1,485,202,340	104,112.66	0.000070100	
	Assessment	Requisition	Tax Rate	
Kneehill Housing Corporatation	2,255,218,495	312,137.76	0.000138407	

2. That the minimum amount payable per parcel as property tax for general municipal purposes shall be \$175.

3. The total Tax Rate for each Assessment Category is as follows:

	Municipal Levy	Alberta School Foundation Fund	Kneehill Housing Corporation	Designated Industrial Property	Total Tax Rate
Residential	0.002883160	0.002485946	0.000138407		0.005507513
Farmland	0.016392290	0.002485946	0.000138407		0.019016643
Grants in Lieu of Taxes	0.002883160				0.002883160
Machinery & Equipment / Power Generation	0.014369503		0.000138407	0.000070100	0.01457801
Non-Residential	0.014369503	0.003501909	0.000138407		0.018009819
Non DIP Industrial Property	0.014369503	0.003501909	0.000138407		0.018009819
Designated Industrial Property	0.014369503	0.003501909	0.000138407	0.000070100	0.018079919
Linear Property	0.014369503	0.003501909	0.000138407	0.000070100	0.018079919

4. This bylaw comes into force at the beginning of the day that it is passed unless otherwise provided for in the MGA or another enactment or in the bylaw. This bylaw is passed when it receives third reading, and it is signed in accordance with S.213 of the MGA.

READ a first time on this 8th day of April, 2025

READ a second time on this 22nd day of April, 2025

READ a third time and final time of this 22nd day of April, 2025

Reeve
Kenneth King

Chief Administrative Officer
Mike Haugen

Date Bylaw Signed